Sunday, January 27, 2019

The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

The Jane Austen Project
by Kathleen A. Flynn

Find out more about this book and author:
Goodreads
BookExcerpt
Website
Blog
Twitter

Published: 2017
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Genre: Fantasy, Time Travel, Jane Austen theme
Paperback: 384
Rating: 4

First sentence(s):
What kind of maniac travels in time?

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field in rural England, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. Turned away at a nearby inn, they are forced to travel by coach all night to London. They are not what they seem, but rather colleagues who have come back in time from a technologically advanced future, posing as wealthy West Indies planters—a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team from the future to “go back,” their mission is by far the most audacious: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen herself.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common besides the extraordinary circumstances they find themselves in. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the continuous convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile the woman she is with the proper lady nineteenth-century society expects her to be. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history intact and exactly as they found it…however heartbreaking that may prove.


My two-bits:

I found this to be a fun ride into the past with Jane Austen.

Different Jane Austen novel themes and interactions come into play as well as romance.

However, time travel has its consequences (which may not be so fun).

~*~

* part of Romanceopoly (here)

* part of Backlist Reader Challenge (here)

3 comments:

  1. Glad you liked this one. I have it on my shelf to read still. Interesting how the Time Travel plays a big role.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've been thinking about reading this one!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Blodeuedd and I just read this!! So good.

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs
Images from: Lovelytocu