Saturday, September 19, 2015

Stuck In A Good Book Giveaway Hop

Stuck In A Good Book Giveaway Hop
September 20-25, 2015
hosted by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and Stuck in Books
details and complete list (here)

~*~

Books that I got stuck in and just couldn't stop reading in the historical genre with France as the backdrop.

~*~

Mademoiselle Chanel
by C.W. Gortner
-France, Historical
Amazon | Goodreads | my review

For readers of The Paris Wife and Z comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and become one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary woman who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark.


~*~


The Beautiful American
by Jeanne Mackin
-France, Historical, WW2
Amazon | Goodreads my review

From Paris in the 1920s to London after the Blitz, two women find that a secret from their past reverberates through years of joy and sorrow....

As recovery from World War II begins, expat American Nora Tours travels from her home in southern France to London in search of her missing sixteen-year-old daughter. There, she unexpectedly meets up with an old acquaintance, famous model-turned-photographer Lee Miller. Neither has emerged from the war unscathed. Nora is racked with the fear that her efforts to survive under the Vichy regime may have cost her daughter’s life. Lee suffers from what she witnessed as a war correspondent photographing the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps.

Nora and Lee knew each other in the heady days of late 1920s Paris, when Nora was giddy with love for her childhood sweetheart, Lee became the celebrated mistress of the artist Man Ray, and Lee’s magnetic beauty drew them all into the glamorous lives of famous artists and their wealthy patrons. But Lee fails to realize that her friendship with Nora is even older, that it goes back to their days as children in Poughkeepsie, New York, when a devastating trauma marked Lee forever. Will Nora’s reunion with Lee give them a chance to forgive past betrayals…and break years of silence to forge a meaningful connection as women who have shared the best and the worst that life can offer?

A novel of freedom and frailty, desire and daring, The Beautiful American portrays the extraordinary relationship between two passionate, unconventional women.


~*~

WIN one of my review copies above!

Open to US only.

Offer ends: September 25, 2015

TO DO: (3 parts)

1. FOLLOW me on Twitter (here).

2. TELL me your Twitter name.

3. TELL me which book you want.

AND, leave your email.

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

Contest has ended - winner is here

~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~-~

~*~

NOW, hop-along to these other sites for more goodies...

details and complete list (here)

15 comments:

  1. Followed as @DarcusMurray
    I would choose Madamoiselle Chanel.
    Email is darcusmurray@hotmail.com

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Following @romer_linda
    The Beautiful American
    isisthe12th@gmail.com
    Thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh those both look good. I would be more interested in the Coco Chanel book.

    I follow on twitter as @sophiarose1816

    Thanks for the opportunity
    sophiarose1816 at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Great books for you this week! I hope you enjoy them! Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    Britt @ Spare Time Book blog

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'd choose The Beautiful American because I just started reading Coco Chanel's book today.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

    ReplyDelete
  6. I follow twitter-ladymagnolia99
    I would pick Mademoiselle Chanel

    magnolias_1(at)msn(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  7. This is the most desirable book selection I've seen for this giveaway or any other recently -- thanks so much! I would love to win the C.W. Gortner novel. I follow you on Twitter as @Shamstress. If necessary, try this: shamy at post dot harvard dot edu

    Cheers and many thanks, Kara S

    ReplyDelete
  8. I follow on twitter-ayeka3b and I would love Mademoiselle Chanel.
    dez3b at yahoo dot com

    ReplyDelete
  9. Followed as @raisinetta and I would like Mademoiselle Chanel.
    r.santos9216@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  10. Following as @TanyaMGuthrie

    I would pick Mademoiselle Chanel
    Tanyamarieward(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Followed as @LaCiJ722
    I would like "The Beautiful American"
    eeyore722@gmail.com

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm @randanicolehyme on twitter and if I won I would love The Beautiful American!
    The email I'd prefer is randanicolehymes(at)gmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  13. i'd love to win Mademoiselle Chanel
    Twitter: @Gisele_Alvrd

    ilepachequin(at)hotmail(dot)com

    ReplyDelete
  14. Twitter: @KinomiyaMichiru
    Mademoiselle Chanel
    bookaholicholly at gmail dot com

    ReplyDelete
  15. Both books look good, but I've been wanting to read Mademoiselle Chanel, so that's the one I would choose. I follow on Twitter as @Selftaughtcook2.
    tcuevas@iccable.com

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs
Images from: Lovelytocu