Monday, June 27, 2016

A Mirror Among Shattered Glass by Romarin Demetri

A Mirror Among Shattered Glass
(The Supernatural London Underground, #1)
by Romarin Demetri

Find out more about this book and author:
Amazon
Goodreads
Website
Blog
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter @RomarinDemetri

Just released: June 4, 2016
Publisher: Block 13 Publishing
Genre: Urban Fantasy, New Adult
ebook
Rating: 3

The Supernatural London Underground series:
A Mirror Among Shattered Glass
book 2 - tba

First sentence(s):
It was early morning, and even though the omnipresent "they" say there is a time for everything, there had never been and would never be a good time for what he was about to do.

Unable to contain the deadly nature of her family secret and powers, nine-teen year old Romarin Demetri hails from California, U.S.A, to unearth her heritage as a descendant of serial-killer, Countess Bathory, the woman that lent Dracula his legend, and cursed Romarin with an appetite for blood.

Unenthusiastic about relocating to her birth city of London, a charming paranormal investigator with claim to the throne could change her mind, as he leads her to the only living and distant relative she has: a raven-haired recluse named Talia, who has taken refuge in an old castle in the heart of the city, and doesn’t seem to have a heart of her own.

After a rough introduction to the lethal, inappropriate, and enchantingly sarcastic people she calls her housemates, perhaps the other misfits will be her first true friends; However, as much as these people are like her, they still have hidden vendettas, a taste for revenge, and will struggle between what is just, and what will settle their psychological upheaval. There is only one way for Romarin to become part of the Supernatural London Underground: Can she be the one who challenges them to put down their ghosts and demons and make their world together?


PeekAbook:



My two-bits:

I found this book to be an introduction to a series that was heavy on the "getting to know you" aspect. It presented many characters and some of their backgrounds along with the main character.

Most of the time, the reading felt like hanging out with friends more than following a specific storyline.

There was some action and romance to hold my interest to the end.

About the author:
Romarin Demetri is a story crafter who loves black coffee, traveling abroad, and when her characters come home in some sort of trouble she swears she didn’t invent. Pulling from her B.A. in English and Psychology, her debut series, The Supernatural London Underground, is a blend of fantasy ground in reality, and a world a reader can truly escape to. As an eccentric and reader, she still enjoys creating the alternate reality in her urban fantasy series (more than anything!), and her interactive world waits for you at RomarinDemetri.com.

~*~

* review copy courtesy of author

Saturday, June 25, 2016

Stacking the Shelves - 6.25.16

Stacking the Shelves
hosted by Tynga's Reviews (details)

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

~*~

For Review:

Four Chambers
by Julie Wright
-Romance
courtesy of eBooks for Review -Thanks!
Amazon | Goodreads

Below:
Broken Sky Chronicles, Book 1
by Jason Chabot
-SciFi, YA
courtesy of Turner Publishing -Thanks!
Amazon | Goodreads


From BEA:

GOT some YA...

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco
-Historical, Mystery, YA | Amazon | Goodreads

Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer
-YA | Amazon | Goodreads

Tiny Pretty Things Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton
-Mystery, YA | Amazon | Goodreads

The Death and Life of Zebulon Finch by Daniel Kraus
-Fantasy, YA | Amazon | Goodreads

GOT some Mystery...

Two Days Gone by Randall Silvis
-Mystery | Amazon | Goodreads

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders
-Mystery, Historical | Amazon | Goodreads

GOT some Historical...

The Honeymoon: A Novel About George Eliot by Dinitia Smith
-Historical | Amazon | Goodreads

The Girls by Emma Cline
-Historical, 60s | Amazon | Goodreads


=====> Booksmith, San Francisco, hosted a visit from author, Emma Cline. Her debut novel is now #3 on the New York Times Best Seller list!


AND watched: DVD

Now You See Me (2013)
Director: Louis Leterrier
Screenplay: Ed Solomon, Boaz Yakin, Edward Ricourt
Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Woody Harrelson, Isla Fisher, Dave Franco, Morgan Freeman
-Crime, Mystery, Thriller | imdb | my rating: 5

An FBI agent and an Interpol detective track a team of illusionists who pull off bank heists during their performances and reward their audiences with the money.

=====> Magic fun time ;-)

AND watched: in theatre

Now You See Me 2 (2016)
Director: Jon M. Chu
Screenplay:
Starring: Jesse Eisenberg, Mark Ruffalo, Woody Harrelson, Lizzy Caplan, Dave Franco, Morgan Freeman
-Action, Adventure, Comedy | imdb | my rating: 5

The Four Horsemen resurface and are forcibly recruited by a tech genius to pull off their most impossible heist yet.

=====> More magic fun!

Currently flipping through: from the library

Memories
by Lang Leav
-Poetry, Romance
Amazon | Goodreads

=====> Love it! It is one of those few poetry books I can actually connect with.

~*~

* comment and TELL me what you have acquired for your shelves recently

* per usual, check out the sidebar for my current giveaways offers

Wednesday, June 22, 2016

Waiting on Wednesday - 6.22.16

Waiting on Wednesday
sponsored by Jill at Breaking the Spine (details)

~*~

I'm waiting for...

The Girls
by Emma Cline
-Historical, 1960s
Release date: June 14, 2016
Amazon | Goodreads | Website

Girls—their vulnerability, strength, and passion to belong—are at the heart of this stunning first novel for readers of Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Virgin Suicides and Jennifer Egan’s A Visit from the Goon Squad.

Northern California, during the violent end of the 1960s. At the start of summer, a lonely and thoughtful teenager, Evie Boyd, sees a group of girls in the park, and is immediately caught by their freedom, their careless dress, their dangerous aura of abandon. Soon, Evie is in thrall to Suzanne, a mesmerizing older girl, and is drawn into the circle of a soon-to-be infamous cult and the man who is its charismatic leader.

Hidden in the hills, their sprawling ranch is eerie and run down, but to Evie, it is exotic, thrilling, charged—a place where she feels desperate to be accepted. As she spends more time away from her mother and the rhythms of her daily life, and as her obsession with Suzanne intensifies, Evie does not realize she is coming closer and closer to unthinkable violence, and to that moment in a girl’s life when everything can go horribly wrong.

Emma Cline’s remarkable debut novel is gorgeously written and spellbinding, with razor-sharp precision and startling psychological insight. The Girls is a brilliant work of fiction—and an indelible portrait of girls, and of the women they become.



=====> Curious to read about girls growing up in the 60s.

ALSO, I am going to see Emma at an author event at Booksmith, San Francisco, June 23, Thursday, 6:30pm



Monday, June 20, 2016

Silent Book Club

Silent Book Club
San Francisco, California
Website | Facebook | Instagram

About:
Silent Book Club started with a couple of friends reading in companionable silence at our neighborhood bar. We loved books, and reading with friends, but most of our previous attempts at book clubs had fizzled out.

Often with traditional book clubs there's the scramble to finish the assigned book, and the pressure to have something smart to say. Wouldn't it be great to have a book club where you could just enjoy books, friends, and wine—without any homework?


=====> GO to their website to find out if there is one in your city. I am going to go to my first meeting next Monday. And, will update this post with comments on it.

Details:
June 27, 2016, Monday, 6:30pm
MaSo, Park Central Hotel
50 3rd St, San Francisco

Join us for Silent Book Club, a monthly popup speakeasy for readers. Bring a book, grab a spot on a comfy couch, and order a glass of wine. Then settle in for an evening of reading with fellow book lovers at the Palace Hotel in San Francisco.

While some silent reading parties have a strict No Talking! rule, no one will be shushed or shamed at Silent Book Club. We like to share book recommendations. Bookstagramming is welcome. And, there's a plush leather couch or armchair for everyone.



~*~

* found out about this from Read it Forward (here)

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Bookish Places: Scotland - The Open Book


~*~

A new monthly meme here at vvb32 reads. As travel has been on the forefront of my mind, I thought I would share travel spots on my bucket list that are book related.

~*~

The Open Book
Air BnB bookstore
2 High Street
Wigtown, Scotland
Telephone: +44 1988 402010
Website | Facebook | Air BnB

From AirBnB listing:
Nestled into the pristine lowlands, The Open Book is a charming bookshop with apartment above in the heart of Wigtown, Scotland's National Book Town. Live your dream of having your very own bookshop by the sea in Scotland...for a week or two.

Description:
The first ever bookshop holiday / residency experience, Scotland's National Book Town welcomes you to play-bookshop for a week or two. We'll give you your very own apartment and bookshop below, supported by a team of friendly volunteers to make your trip as lovely as possible. Set up by The Wigtown Festival Company, The Open Book's aim is to celebrate books, independent bookshops and welcome people around the world to Scotland's National Book Town. The fee for your stay is low because we are a non-profit. It covers the running costs of the holiday but that is all. A laptop and WiFi are provided, plus bicycles for those who like to explore the bucolic countryside on two wheels!

Pretty much booked until 2018.

If you've ever thought about opening a bookstore, now's your chance to try it out: The Open Book, a small shop in Wigtown, Scotland, is soliciting temporary owners on Airbnb.

For $312.65 a week, book lovers can run their own indie bookstore and live above it in a one-bedroom apartment. Volunteers are on hand to help you out with daily tasks, but setting the hours (the store must be open 40 hours per week), stocking books and making window displays are your responsibilities.

Wigtown is Scotland's "national book town," home to 1,000 residents and 10 bookstores (that's 1 for every 100 people). It's also the setting of the Wigtown Book Festival, an annual 10-day book celebration.

"[T]he bookshop residency's aim is to celebrate bookshops, encourage education in running independent bookshops and welcome people around the world to Scotland's National Book Town," explains the Airbnb advertisement.




=====> Seems like a good way to get introduced to some of the logistics of bookselling business in a vacation setting.


PeekInside:



~*~

* found out about this bookstore from Books on the Nightstand (here)

* source: images, store front

* source articles: here and here

 
Imagination Designs
Images from: Lovelytocu