Tuesday, July 28, 2015

Adults and Coloring Books

Secret Garden:
An Inky Treasure Hunt and Coloring Book

by Johanna Basford
Amazon | Goodreads

Experience the phenomenon that has sold 2 million copies worldwide and launched the coloring craze for adults.

This beautiful and interactive coloring book features delicate and highly detailed pen-and-ink illustrations—all waiting to be brought to life with color. As added entertainment, tiny garden creatures are hidden on the pages, waiting to be found, and a key and index are included in the back. The book's cover and jacket are also colorable.


=====> This seems to be the most popular of the bunch out there.

Coloring books aimed at adults are the latest craze these days. There is such a variety available to tickle your fancy. As a form of meditation or as an off-line activity, it is a fun way to be interactive with favorite, beautiful or funky images.

I plan to try my hand at some coloring soon, especially when the ones below are released.

LET me know if you are in the coloring craze and what do you use to color - crayons, colored pens or pencils?


On my want list:

Fantastic Cities:
A Coloring Book of Amazing Places Real and Imagined

by Steve McDonald
Release date: August 11, 2015
Amazon | Goodreads -signup for giveaway that ends Aug 10

This unique coloring book features immersive aerial views of real cities from around the world alongside gorgeously illustrated, Inception-like architectural mandalas. Artist Steve McDonald's beautifully rendered and detailed line work offers bird's-eye perspectives of visually arresting global locales from New York, London, and Paris to Istanbul, Tokyo, and Melbourne, Rio, Amsterdam, and many more. The adult coloring book's distinctive large square format offers absorbingly complex vistas to color, the crisp white pages are conducive to a range of artistic applications, and a middle margin keeps all the artwork fully colorable. Complementing the cityscapes are a selection of mind-bending labyrinthine architectural illustrations for still deeper meditative coloring adventures and imaginative flights of fancy.

=====> This one appealed to the traveler in me.

Based on tv shows:

George R. R. Martin's Official A Game of Thrones Coloring Book
(A Song of Ice and Fire)

by George R. R. Martin
Amazon | Goodreads

The perfect gift for fans of George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire and HBO’s Game of Thrones, this one-of-a-kind coloring book features more than forty-five exclusive illustrations!

ALL MEN MUST DRAW

In a world where weddings are red, fire is green, and debts are paid in gold, countless images leap off the page (or the screen) thanks to the eye-popping intricacy of the vivid settings and details. Now, for the first time, fans of this blockbuster saga can fill in the blanks and marvel as this meticulously imagined universe comes to life, one sword, sigil, and castle at a time. With dozens of stunning original black-and-white illustrations from world-renowned illustrators Yvonne Gilbert, John Howe, Tomislav Tomic, Adam Stower, and Levi Pinfold, this unique collector’s item expands the reach of an international phenomenon with flying colors.



Diana Gabaldon's Official Outlander Coloring Book
by Diana Gabaldon
Release date: October 27, 2015
Amazon | Goodreads

=====> The cover for this is not yet revealed. I am sooooooo curious about it ;-)
But, I imagine it will be something like this fan art created by noctemus (here)

2 comments:

  1. I'm so curious about the Outlander Coloring Book!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooh, I wants some of these. Very cool!

    ReplyDelete

 
Imagination Designs
Images from: Lovelytocu