Saturday, August 23, 2014

Stacking the Shelves - 8.23.14

Stacking the Shelves
hosted by Tynga's Reviews (details)

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks!

~*~

Bought:

Pride, Prejudice and Cheese Grits
by Mary Jane Hathaway
-jane austen, chick-lit
Amazon | Goodreads

-----> sassy title, eh?
picked this up for the Book Rat's Austen in August


Review:

Elly in Love
by Colleen Oakes
-chick-lit
courtesy of BookSparks Summer Reading Challenge 2014
Thanks Janay!
Amazon | Goodreads

In Bloom
by Katie Delahanty
-new adult, romance
courtesy of BookSparks Summer Reading Challenge 2014
Thanks Janay!
Amazon | Goodreads

Library:

Alienated
by Melissa Landers
-aliens, YA
Amazon | Goodreads

Two years ago, the aliens made contact. Now Cara Sweeney is going to be sharing a bathroom with one of them.

Handpicked to host the first-ever L’eihr exchange student, Cara thinks her future is set. Not only does she get a free ride to her dream college, she’ll have inside information about the mysterious L’eihrs that every journalist would kill for. Cara’s blog following is about to skyrocket.

Still, Cara isn’t sure what to think when she meets Aelyx. Humans and L’eihrs have nearly identical DNA, but cold, infuriatingly brilliant Aelyx couldn’t seem more alien. She’s certain about one thing, though: no human boy is this good-looking.

But when Cara's classmates get swept up by anti-L'eihr paranoia, Midtown High School suddenly isn't safe anymore. Threatening notes appear in Cara's locker, and a police officer has to escort her and Aelyx to class.

Cara finds support in the last person she expected. She realizes that Aelyx isn’t just her only friend; she's fallen hard for him. But Aelyx has been hiding the truth about the purpose of his exchange, and its potentially deadly consequences. Soon Cara will be in for the fight of her life—not just for herself and the boy she loves, but for the future of her planet.


-----> must admit, i was taken with the cover and premise of this one

Summer House with Swimming Pool
by Herman Koch
-mystery, thriller
Amazon | Goodreads

When a medical mistake goes horribly wrong and Ralph Meier, a famous actor, winds up dead, Dr. Marc Schlosser is forced to conceal the error from his patients and family. After all, reputation is everything in this business. But the weight of carrying such a secret lies heavily on his mind, and he can't keep hiding from the truth…or the Board of Medical Examiners.

The problem is that the real truth is a bit worse than a simple slipup. Marc played a role in Ralph's death, and he's not exactly upset that the man is gone. Still haunted by his eldest daughter's rape during their stay at Ralph's extravagant Mediterranean summerhouse-one they shared with Ralph and his enticing wife, Judith, film director Stanley Forbes and his far younger girlfriend, Emmanuelle, and Judith's mother-Marc has had it on his mind that the perpetrator of the rape could be either Ralph or Stanley. Stanley's guilt seems obvious, bearing in mind his uncomfortable fixation on the prospect of Marc's daughter's fashion career, but Marc's reasons for wanting Ralph dead become increasingly compelling as events unravel. There is damning evidence against Marc, but he isn't alone in his loathing of the star-studded director.


-----> wanted one more summer-ish book for the season

Dreaming about getting soon:

The Miniaturist
by Jessie Burton
-historical, fantasy, mystery
Amazon | Goodreads

Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam-a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion-a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant.

"There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed…"

On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office-leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin.

But Nella's world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist-an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . .

Johannes' gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand-and fear-the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction?

Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.


-----> in general, miniatures are so whimsical and irresistible to me

~*~

* some of these may be offered as giveaways within the next two months

* comment and TELL me what you have acquired for your shelves recently

* per usual, check out the sidebar for my current giveaways offers

7 comments:

  1. A lot of your books are new to me and they look pretty awesome. Great stack of books this week.

    Grace @Books of Love

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great Haul!. Have a wonderful weekend.
    Diane @ Diane's Book Blog

    ReplyDelete
  3. These look fun! I need to get on with reading The Miniaturist myself... Hope you enjoy.

    My StS.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've heard mixed reviews regarding Alienated, can't wait to see your thoughts! :)

    Have a good week!
    Amber Elise @ Du Livre

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hahahaah! Pride, Prejudice and Cheese Grits is really a sassy title. Err~ what do cheese grits have anything to do with Jane Austen's PP? I've been hearing a lot of good things about Alienated but haven't had the time to pick it up.

    And I am inlove with The Miniaturist's cover but unfortunately, it's a historical novel which I really don't like reading.

    I hope that it's going to work out for you. ;D

    ReplyDelete
  6. Summer house with swimming pool caught my eye. ^_^
    sherry @ fundinmental

    ReplyDelete
  7. The cover of Alienated is so pretty!

    ReplyDelete